Filter by
more... less


Pleasure Wine: Margaux Wines


Discover the Margaux appellation


A world-famous AOC that represents 1,400 hectares of vineyard, for an average output of 63,000 hectares of red wines only! Margaux enjoys some of the best soils found in the Médoc region, with just the right blend of gravel found in Graves; it’s also one of the largest appellations in the entire region. Five communes can produce the appellation: Arsac, Cantenac, Labarde, Soussans and Margaux. The main grape varieties here are: the Cabernet Sauvignon, the Cabernet Franc, the Merlot and the Petit Verdot. There are a few others as well, such as the Carménère and the Cot.

This AOC is peculiar for one reason: the Bordeaux Cru Bourgeois Classification, an award that was created in 1932! Although it only rewards the very best wines, there are also plenty of excellent ones that didn't make the cut. With its 21 châteaux, the Margaux AOC also has a lot of cru wines listed in the famous 1855 Classification, among which the Château Margaux. The latter is the only Haut Médoc village appellation to have earned the official title of "Premier Grand Cru Classé".

Check out our selection of Margaux wines. Pleasure Wine's pick of the finest bottles.

Read more



Create a free account to save loved items.

Sign in

Create a free account to use wishlists.

Sign in