Filter by
more... less


Pleasure Wine: Chablis Wines


Discover the Chablis wine appellation


In the northern part of the Burgundy region, next to the town of Auxerre, you’ll find the Chablisien terroir. Here, winemakers follow very strict quality guidelines in order to perfect the image of the local dry white wine, made with Chardonnay grapes. The AOC certification for the Petit-Chablis was the first step in creating the 4 appellations in the area: Petit-Chablis, Chablis, Chablis Premier Cru and Chablis Grand Cru.

The Petit-Chablis is a set of parcels that grows at the top of the hillside, 250 meters high. It represents 780 hectares of land, with an output of 43,000 hectoliters of white wine each year. The Chablis AOC as a whole represents 3,150 hectares spread out over the local vineyards. When it comes to size, this appellation is one of the biggest in the area and its annual production can reach 170,000 hectoliters.

The Chablis Premier Cru grows on the exposed hillside, located to the south and west (to maximize the sun exposure). According to the land registry map, there are more than 40 climates here: 770 hectares of surface, split into 18 denominations, and located in 79 different districts. The Chablis name can officially be added to any of these climates.

The Chablis Grand Cru appellation is reserved for the most prestigious terroirs only. More than 100 hectares of grapevines exist for this appellation, planted around the village of Chablis, for an output of 5,400 hectoliters of wine each year. 7 climates (or localities) that are at the top of what Chablis can produce. To be more precise, it’s not really seven Grands Crus but rather one Grand Cru, divided into smaller climates.

Discover the Pleasure Wine selection of Chablis wines.

Read more



Create a free account to save loved items.

Sign in

Create a free account to use wishlists.

Sign in